How to Share a Desktop or Program

  1. In a call or meeting, the Call Options will appear along the top of your Teams window.  
  2. Select the Share Content icon from the top right.  
  3. You will be prompted to choose one of your screens/desktops or windows/programs to share. If you select a window, a list of your open windows will appear for you to choose from to share.  
You can choose to share a screen/desktop or a specific window/program.
  1. If you’re sharing a screen, your entire desktop will be shared, and the shared area will be outlined in red. This means you can switch between multiple windows and programs in the same session without needing to stop and start screen shares throughout the meeting. Screen sharing means that whatever is visible to you on your screen is also visible to all other participants. 
When you share a screen or desktop, everything outlined in red is visible to participants.
  1. If you’re sharing a program from the Window list, only that program will be shared, and just that program will be outlined in red. As you change the size of this window, the red outline will change with it. If you pull another window over your shared window, Teams will pause the screen share. This means, the shared window will show what it looked like before it was covered. This gives participants no indication that there is another unshared window.  
When you share a window or program, only that specific window will be visible to Teams participants.
  1. To stop sharing, choose the Stop Sharing icon in the Call Options Window at the bottom of your screen. 
To stop sharing, choose the Stop Sharing icon in the Call Options Window at the bottom of your screen.

While sharing your screen, you will have access to more Call Options. If you move your cursor to the top of your screen, a new tool bar will appear with the options to Stop Presentingsame as stop sharing—and to Give Control. The Give Control options allows you to select another participant to take control of your shared screen or window. They’ll be able to click and type on your screen, but don’t worry! They can only interact with content you’ve shared, and they won’t be able to make any changes to your computer that require admin permissions. Keep in mind, only one person can share their screen at a time in Teams Meetings.  

If you move your cursor to the top of your screen, you will be prompted with more Call Options.

Microsoft Gold Communications Partner

PEI has been a Microsoft Gold Partner since 2005, and our engineers hold multiple Gold Microsoft Communications Certifications. We understand each organization’s Unified Communications journey is unique, and we deliver value by working with you to understand your business objectives and mapping out your technology to enhance these goals.

Whether you’re looking to use Microsoft Teams as an online collaboration service or an enterprise-grade voice service with Microsoft Audio Conferencing (previously PSTN Conferencing), Microsoft Calling Plan (previously PSTN Calling), Microsoft Phone System (previously Cloud PBX) capabilities, PEI’s Microsoft Gold Communications Partnership makes us a recognized leader in delivering Microsoft Unified Communications solutions like Microsoft Teams (formerly Skype for Business Online).

Have Questions or Want to Get Started?

Contact Us Today!